A lot of you have been reading my blog about the Foxhall Resort.  The post is almost a year old, so I thought I’d search for the result and see what comes up.

First of all, I searched for the Merrill Trust website and found it at http://www.catatoga.net/merrilltrust/ .  And right on the front page is a list of their current projects.  Foxhall Resort is still on the list.

I first found this form submitted by the Foxhall Resort to the state of Georgia’s Developments of Regional Impact: http://www.dca.state.ga.us/dri/InitialForm.aspx?driid=1839 They list the completion date as 2020.  They say the resort will be “Up to 910 resort residential units & up to 2.3 million SF of mixed-use resort commercial.”    What are residential units?  I had a hard time finding a definition, but when I searched the term through Google Image search, I came up with pictures of apartment complexes and high-rises you’d most likely find on the shores of Panama City Beach.

I also found a newsletter called the ARC Regional Roundup from November 2008 (http://www.atlantaregional.com/html/4795.htm) that says about Foxhall Resort:

The proposed Foxhall Resort and Sporting Club is a mixed-use development located on 1,092.15 acres in Douglas County.  The proposed development includes 910 single family homes, 900 resort units, 600 hotel rooms, 140,000 square feet of retail, a worship center and a public safety site. The proposed development is located on Capps Ferry Road west of the Chattahoochee River.”

Don’t know if they’ve started construction or not–I’ll have to drive down there one day and find out.


