IMO, I think ALL bus drivers need to be checked.  I’ve had at least two coming out of Alexander Parkway that turned right in front of me onto Hwy 5.  I know they saw my car–it’s hard not to see my car.  But they turned anyway, and I had to slam on my brakes in order to avoid hitting them.

From today’s Sentinel:

Three school buses collide
No one injured; students were not on buses
By Bobby Moore
Staff Writer

No injuries were reported Thursday morning in an accident involving three school buses at the intersection of Chapel Hill Road and Douglas Boulevard.

Karen Stroud, the Douglas County School System’s community relations director, said the accident occurred around 8:30 a.m. when a bus heading north on Chapel Hill Road rear-ended a bus stopped at the traffic light in front of the Quik Trip station. The bus that was struck immediately collided with a third bus in what Stroud called a “typical chain reaction.”

No students were on board the buses when the accident occurred, officials said.

Stroud said all three drivers had completed their morning routes and were on their way back to the transportation center on Durelee Lane to park their buses.

The three bus drivers were taken to WellStar Douglas Hospital as a precaution, and they checked out without injuries and were at home resting by 1 p.m.

While Stroud did not specify the amount of damage caused to the buses, she did say they were driven off from the scene.

Stroud said the drivers involved in the accident will undergo a drug test as required by the state.
